Confession of A Turned-On Prayer

Once upon a time a little girl asked to her elder sister, “Sister, why shouldn’t we pray at the front of men?”

The elder sister answered her, “Coz men should lead women, instead the contrary.”

Then the little girl said, “But I’ve got a problem with that.”

“What’s your problem?” asked the elder sister.

“Each time I pray and look at the back of the man who prays at the front of me, it turns me on.”

***

That explains why each mushalla or mosque should be given a kinda curtain to separate men and women. People often blames on women as the source of sex appeal, but actually men often becomes the sex appeal for women. And it even happens while praying at the house of God.

Photo by William Sebastian, about Sholat Ied at Sunda Kelapa Harbour, Jakarta. Scanned from National Geographic Indonesia, December ’08.
Photo by William Sebastian, about Sholat Ied at Sunda Kelapa Harbour, Jakarta. Scanned from National Geographic Indonesia, December ’08.

Once upon a time my cousin came up with her boyfriend for slumber party at my house. My mom prepared a room for my cousin’s boyfriend. No, not a bedroom, coz my small house made that man should sleep at the couch. But we prepared a small room for my cousin’s boyfriend to pray.

I told my mom, why should bother? Why didn’t just let him praying in girls’ room instead, I didn’t mind that my cousin’s boyfriend entering my room if he just wanna pray.

But my mom said no. Said my mom, don’t let my cousin pray with her boyfriend only. Coz, they were unmarried yet.

I was confused, where the correlation between praying with boyfriend and related like a husband and a wife was. For me, it was just about two people praying together instead. And accidentally, they were in a relationship.

But then, I remember, my mom never prays with another man, except with her dad or with my dad. Even when she goes to a public mosque, she never prays following another man’s prayer, if the formation only takes two. I’m sure, this lesson ain’t written in any pages in our Holy Book, this is just a kinda private ethic code.

Though we all know, that praying together, cost rewards much more than praying alone.

How about you? Do you pray with your unmarried sweetheart?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fahmi!
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 05:46:55

    your mom’s private ethic code is quite interesting. i’ve never heard of this, my spiritual gurus never said anything about it.

    Reply

  2. Mamah Aline
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 14:05:27

    there’s a rule in my family that also never let a boyfriend become a priest to pray for her before they married, we’d pray separated

    Reply

  3. depz
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 14:40:27

    komennya bole pke bahasa kan 😀

    jadi kalo itanya ” do you pray with your unmarried sweetheart?” gw jawab iya
    dengan alasan “membiasakan”
    lagi pula kepercayaan dan berdoa tidak berhub dengan itu menurut gw
    walo sah2 aja yg memiliki prinsip seperti itu

    *btw blog lo banyak amat si 😛 *

    Reply

  4. anny
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 14:42:24

    By praying together we can feel more grateful and giving inspiration each other

    Reply

  5. hendriawanz
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 20:38:16

    Faith, loyalty, that’s unmeasurable value in human life, in family. Even if it is written on the Holy Book, i’ll feel more grateful to see a woman who realizes the value on her lifeline and takes it into her heart (many people often feel sleepy after buying and reading books).
    How proud I am when I meet such a woman to be my wife.

    Reply

  6. zee
    Jan 13, 2010 @ 15:45:34

    Kalo gue jelas enggak pernah doa bareng, Vick. Karena jelas platformnya udah beda ehheeheh…

    Reply

  7. fanny
    Jan 14, 2010 @ 08:41:41

    oo itu toh penjelasannya.

    Reply

And how do you think about it? ;-)

