Simply Talk

Do you prefer voice-calling or just texting? Do you prefer writing e-mails or just instant messaging? Each person has their own preferences and there are gotta be reasons for them.

SMS teaches us how to speak simply. Photo from http://2as1.net

A colleague of mine, let’s call her name Margaret, told me that each time she dialed the number of her friend Thierry (and again, this is not a real name), he never answered. And Margaret had to text Thierry about what she wanted. Well, Thierry always replied her text. Margaret didn’t like it coz texting only contained short messages (that’s why they call it SMS: short messaging service. If you write it long, it’s gotta be LMS: long messaging service). It didn’t satisfy Margaret, coz she couldn’t express her mind completely. She only could speak much more if she spoke by phone.

So Margaret demanded Thierry, “Why do you always just reply me by text if I ring you up?”

Then Thierry answered her, “So you get used to say something brief efficiently!”

* * *

Ever since people influenced me to tweet last year, I still haven’t found a way to make my fellas join Twitter. They prefer writing status in Facebook to Twitter. It’s a simple reason, when they update their status at Facebook, you can write as much as you can (which I think it’s really time-wasteful. If you wanna write much, just write it down in a blog, so you get much more reader to hear you). But in Twitter, you only can speak up to 140 characters only, not more. What a meanie (?)

But I think, Twitter is so effective to teach me expressing my mind efficiently. Coz I’m a talkative, I speak like a chatterbox, I can’t talk in short sentences. Sometimes writing a daily blog can be a trouble for me, coz there’s too much things to write down, but I’m scared that my article will be too long and it’ll bore my readers. Until today, I always try to obey my private ethic code, never write an article contained more than 5000 characters. It’s a thing that I almost never do, except for some articles which are special enough for me.

So I admire those who can write blog only in one sentence or two, but they can inspire lotta people to comment. The secret tip may be simple, just put a photo in the article, coz usually picture talks more than texts. Once I tried it, but photo essay doesn’t works for my style.

Tuitwit. Photo from http://3bp.blogspot.com

Well, a few days ago, a friend of mine who’s crazy about social networks got a new toy named Tuitwit.com. This is still another partner network of Twitter, where we can tweet without login to Twitter. There are two features that I love from the Tuitwit, one of them we can check whom that we’ve been following and never follow us back. (LOL..dear purposeful tweepsies, eat this!). The second one is a feature for direct messaging, and the fun thing is, a direct message can be written more than 140 characters. Yippie!

So recent days I’ve been direct messaging my Twit-pal with messages which length is more appropriate to be sent via e-mail. Even I don’t think I would send SMS that long. It’s satisfied coz I can talk much. Though my friend thought, some of my messages are interrupted, coz he read my direct messages from TweetDeck. But the e-mail notifications from Twitter which he received for my direct messages, wrote my messages completely uninterrupted.

Then I think, this may be not right. If we don’t get used to speak anything briefly in 140 characters, probably for lifetime we’ll always be verbiage.

I should suggest House of Representatives to learn to tweet. It’s been weeks I watched their court, and I’m bored coz each person always raise verbiage questions. Each time they only wanted to ask about a point, it always took too much time for prologue. No wonder the interrogated guests always looked like wanna cry. Probably they didn’t understand exactly what the long questions are about, “What da heck are you exactly trying to ask??”

You may comment anything. Short comments or long ones are allowed. But, please, be simple.. 🙂

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hendriawanz
    Jan 30, 2010 @ 16:43:43

    I don’t join Twitter so I can’t give any opinion about it. But the main topic here, “speak/write something brief efficiently” interests me to write a comment here.

    The essence of communication is A knows exactly what B means. How many words should B need for A ? If A and B are a happy couple, one word (such as “honey..”) might be enough. Another example, B wants to fix his broken relationship with A. In this case, how many words would he need to compose sentences to replace “I am sorry, I love you”?.

    So the important point of efficient communication is not the number of words but how B make A understand what he mean. At this point, he will choose the most appropriate method: email, blog, sms, twitter..? All have their own utility.

    How about using many/a few words to make anybody confused ..:D

    Reply

  2. julie
    Jan 31, 2010 @ 23:33:23

    i prefer call as the best
    jiaah vic, ada di wpjuga toh???
    miss yo

    Reply

  3. Itik Bali
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 03:31:19

    I also have a twitter account , though rarely used but sometimes I can write my feelings at the time, feeling that I could not write on the blog or in the Facebook status

    is unfortunately only 140 character tweet
    probably I can use tuittwit for better alternative

    Reply

  4. Huang
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 11:42:32

    i prefer SMS :mrgreen:

    soalnya nggak perlu lihat kondisi waktu, kapan saya sempat bales saya bales, nggak sempat ya saya lupa. 😀

    efek lain kalo sms dia gak ganggu jam kita daripada telepon. misalnya saya sedang mandi, kan terganggu banget saat ada orang yang menelpon.

    Reply

  5. avartara
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 11:58:42

    I prefer to use direct calls, more simple and saves the time, and certainly more clearly toward the goal.

    Reply

  6. Fanda
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 19:45:16

    That’s why women are different from men. Women like to explain everything in details, while men always want to hear just the essence. So, how should we communicate with people? It depends on the person and the needs (for example: is it non formal between friends, or is it formal things between boss and secretary?)

    Reply

  7. Tyka Ndutyke
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 22:54:13

    i can tweet up to 75 x/day.
    and i still do blogwriting almost everyday.
    i am a chatterbox indeed.

    Reply

  8. galihsatria
    Feb 03, 2010 @ 16:21:08

    I have three microblogs for different purposes. Facebook is for my real friends (I’ve met them in real world), Plurk is for my virtual friends (I accept all of friend requests), and the last one is Twitter. I still don’t know, but at this time it only shows my blog’s update.

    Reply

And how do you think about it? ;-)

