How You Met My Father

I didn’t like kupang. But my dad loves the kinda weird culinary. And he always hunts it each time we came to our hometown.

Kupang is a white shell (Corbula faba) which in Sidoarjo, Jawa Timur, is turned into food. People eat it along with lontong and shell satay, spiced with petis sauce. My dad’s crazy about the kupang due to sentimental reason: the food is only stored in Jawa Timur. My family lives in Bandung, Jawa Barat, where all kinda Jawa Timur food is easy to be found, but nobody dares to sell kupang. I guess it’s coz of the odd formation, looks like mal-evolution sperm, so people are shy to eat it. So there are only a few people who’d like to sell kupang, and there’s not much bonafide restaurant who’d like to purchase it. It makes consequence that kupang is only sold in cafes whose sanitation unfortunately are doubted about.

Kupang. Dished with lontong and petis sauce. Photo by my hunk.

I don’t believe in those kupang cafes, so I’m not interested to eat it. Each time our family come home, my dad stops by to have kupang, while I’m just accompanying him by having only a cup of tea. He said that I was a Javanese girl who didn’t appreciated her own ethnical custom food. “What kinda Javanese girl who doesn’t like kupang?”

Then last Sunday, things changed.

I came home to Kreyongan with my dad. We took a plane from Bandung and it landed on Surabaya. My hunk picked us up at the airport, and then he drove us to Pasuruan, for having another car to Kreyongan.

Shell satay, served with kupang. Photo by my hunk.

My dad said, he’d like to have kupang in Pasuruan, coz there was the best café which sold kupang. I said, “Please no, Pops, my hunk is gonna have lunch with us, can’t we have any other place sophisticated and fine so I’m not embarrassed about you on him?” 😀

But my dad still insisted. And I just hoped my hunk would still love me though my dad liked a food which looked like sperm attacked by Chernobyl radiation.

Instead, my hunk was as shameless as my dad. We ordered a portion of kupang for everyone, and my hunk ate all of his part. And I, the only person who didn’t like kupang, suddenly liked it. I didn’t know what made me suddenly loved the abnormal food, whether if the kupang was exactly delicious, or whether that I found out that my hunk and my dad got matched at the same course.

Ever since that day, I’ve known that I got my life more comfortable. I’m not afraid to ring up my hunk at the front of my dad, and I’m brave enough to put our pictures in my phone. I’ve begun to show my parents that my relationship with my hunk exists, and my dad doesn’t look mind. My dad seems assuming that, if a man who dates his daughter likes kupang, then that man is cosmopolitan enough to be with our family..  🙂

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. astri
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 12:25:42

    Waaah senangnya ada yang lolos fit n proper test makan kupang. Kalo temen boleh ikut ngetes gak yaaah?

    Reply

  2. fanny fredlina
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 15:14:20

    baru tahu ada makanan spt itu.

    Reply

  3. antyo rentjoko
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 15:28:22

    Kemarin Fahmi nulis kupang, eh di sini nemu juga. Sate kerang saya suka, apalagi buat nememin soto. Kupang? Baru nyoba sekali, dan mungkin sampelnya salah sehingga kurang berkesan. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Cahya
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 20:47:35

    Kalau melihat gambar yang disajikan, saya jadi agak ragu mencobanya, tapi kalau dapat gratis … hmmm… 😀

    Reply

  5. gerhanacoklat
    Mar 19, 2010 @ 20:53:53

    hmmm sedapnya sate ituu

    Reply

  6. hunk
    Mar 20, 2010 @ 17:41:12

    berikutnya giliran kamu makan nasi kebuli dan kambing oven. 😉

    Reply

  7. tukangpoto
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 23:02:58

    Well, i guess just because your hunk have an apetite for Kupang then it contagious to you..congratulations!

    Reply

  8. emmychen
    Mar 23, 2010 @ 21:05:03

    I never eat kupang, dunno how it tastes and i dont really want to eat that food… sama alesannya sama kak vicky, bentuknya jijay, aku ga mikirin sperti sperm atau apa gitu hahahahaha cuma modelnya kyk muntahan gitu 😛

    myb I should eat that sometime later..

    btw congratz yahh for u and ur hunk hahaha.. berkat kupang nih 😛 aku rasa kak vicky jadi suka kupang gara2 hunk deh hihi..

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      Mar 23, 2010 @ 21:25:54

      Iya, memang tampangnya kayak muntahan, hahaha! 😀

      Nggak ngerti gimana seh kok bokap jadi doyan. Tapi kalau liat my hunk di sebelahku makan kupangnya dengan lahap, kok rasanya dunia jadi damai, hehehe.. 😀 Kupang mungkin rasanya nggak akan seenak itu, kalau waktu itu aku nggak makan bareng dia. 🙂

      Reply

  9. dhodie
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 10:54:19

    mal-evolution sperm hahahaha…

    Saya pernah dengar, tapi belum pernah ngerasain Kupang.. Only in East Java? Hmm sounds tempted to try..

    Reply

  10. Fanda
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 14:32:52

    Hahaha…so rule no. 1 for every guy who wishes to date a man’s daughter, he must learn to love the man’s favorite food. Hmm…make sense! Coz your food will show your character (who actually said that??)

    Vick, the English novel ‘Slow Dancing’ is just like any other romance-mystery novels. It’s cheap because it’s second hand, but most of all, it’s cheap because it’s available at Vixxio. hehehe…

    Reply

  11. ALRIS
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 01:47:29

    Wah pasti maknyuss nih

    Reply

  12. anna
    Mar 29, 2010 @ 17:30:28

    maksudnya sate kerang gitu kah?
    wah, sering makan itu say..
    dikantorku.. ada penjual namanya mbak anna *nama yang sama nih* suka jual sate kerang… ennak…

    Reply

And how do you think about it? ;-)

