An Hour, Close to Nowhere

How much do you access internet everyday? I’m not asking you how long, but more exactly, how often? I access Opera Mini anytime, each time I have spare time, each time I look at my cell. Before getting shower, I see my cell to look up my e-mail. After shower, I check my e-mail again. Before meal, I check my e-mail. And after meal, I check my e-mail again. And so do I before I leave home and even after I come home. Especially before I go to bed. And even right after I wake up.

It’s not too much. New e-mails catch me up almost every hour.

I’m sure I’m not the only one. Probably so are you. It’s the same reason. We can’t live without assuring that someone is looking for us. Even when no one is looking for us, we hurd up for anyone else. Do you realize that in lousy time you open up your browser only just for looking for any news site?

Then I ask. Can’t we stop, for one hour only, not to turn on internet in your cell, though it’s just for tweeting or seeing any new stories at Facebook?

Next Saturday, this March 27, the whole world is celebrating Earth Hour. In Earth Hour, between 20.3-21.30, we don’t turn on electricity at all. Turn off the power at home, at office. Including, turn off your cells. Then we’ll see how it feels, what’s life gonna be without electricity.

I celebrated this Earth Hour last year, when I still lived in Cali. I turned off the lamps in my apartment, and I also turned off the cells. I tried to ruin my work as it used to be, only with candle light. Actually I was used to it, coz it was a remote village where there was often electricity disturbance, so lotta houses didn’t turn on lights at night. But I was a cyber socialite, and I couldn’t wake up without GPRS connected to my cell. And I felt it, it was miserable for me. Even though it just took an hour.

So here’s the challenge. Can you celebrate Earth Hour, at next March 27, between 20.30-21.30, with no status updating at all?

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cahya
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 15:00:35

    Hmm…, not too much, but for earth hour, lets say, “Yes we can!” 🙂

    Reply

  2. Matt Wahyu
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 23:19:01

    I hope we can do it 🙂

    Reply

  3. jensen99
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 17:28:42

    Just like your experience in Cali, me having electricity disturbance from PLN almost everyday, and sometimes twice a day, range from half an hour to 10 hours without power supply. So personally, I have no reason at all to join Earth Hour. 👿
    Moreover, although I trust any good intention from you and each friends who support this campaign, I don’t like the euphoria of this one-day momentum. Seems like suddenly we got a lot of earth-saver hero wannabe for tomorrow night, and (perhaps) for the rest of the year keep wasting energy. So useless… 😐

    To say it in other words, let me copy-paste an argument from Gunawan Rudy, when we & others heated up a discussion about this on his Facebook last night:

    ada beberapa tipe pendukung earth hour:
    (1) yang memang aktif berhemat listrik dalam kehidupan sehari-hari. menggunakan listrik (tipi, komputer, laptop, mesin cuci, lampu, kulkas, dll) dengan sehemat-hematnya.
    (2) yang cuma berhemat pada satu jam itu saja. euforia momentum simbolik. selain itu seakan lupa. katanya, “yang penting saya bayar, ya saya pakai listrik.”
    (3) yang ikut-ikutan biar disangka gaul dan peduli bumi.
    (4) yang terpaksa. mau gimana lagi. saban hari padam terus. #nasibluarjawa

    andai yang paling banyak yang tipe (1), saya nggak bakal sesinis ini.
    masalahnya yang banyak itu tipe (4), juga (2) dan (3).

    Just my dua keping seratus rupiah.
    Anyway, happy earth hour tomorrow, Vic. 😉

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      Mar 26, 2010 @ 17:48:56

      I can’t believe Earth Hour turn into euphoria. It’s supposed to make it contemplation, instead something to celebrate by tweets and status updating. Are there gonna be stupid people celebrating Earth Hour by making a rock festival and so on? That’s a crap.

      Reply

  4. quinie
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 13:26:12

    with no status updating at all? without checking e-mail through cell?
    apa ini sama artinya dengan ‘nyepi’ sesaat?

    Reply

  5. Bang Aswi
    Mar 27, 2010 @ 15:13:28

    Kalau hanya tanpa update status apapun pada jam segitu, ya gampang aja. Intinya, itu hanya penyadaran bahwa kita harus hemat energi, dan kebetulan hemat energinya berbarengan dengan penduduk lainnya.

    Reply

  6. irrestry
    Mar 30, 2010 @ 17:18:05

    actually we can..
    tapi sayangnya kadang ada yang menggampangkan..ada yang meremehkan..banyak faktor lain yang membuat seseorang tidak bisa/mau berpartisipasi

    Reply

  7. zee
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 07:48:23

    Kalau gw takut gelap, Vick. Jadi kemarin tidak semua pos dimatikan, beberapa saja yang selama ini makan listrik banyak. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Fanda
    Apr 17, 2010 @ 19:24:37

    Haha…same to me, it’s difficult not to be tempted to check new messages in my e-mail, or new comments on my blog, or new tweets. Internet has become one of the most important thing in my life, without me realizing it!

    Reply

And how do you think about it? ;-)

