Recomfy with Facebook

It’s been months recently Facebook hasn’t made me uncomfy. Lotta people wanna add me, while I had no strong enough reason to reject them. But after I approved them and legitimized them as my “friends”, I didn’t feel that some of them really wanna be my friends, proven from my unreplied messages. Then I felt that their news just contaminated my news feed, so I felt my FB news feed full of fake friends who added me for only showing off their vendors, or news that they just already this award or that award. Wasn’t that pity?

Another suck reason was they more often posted skanky applications. I got sick each time I read phrases of Farmville or Mafia Wars, yuck! I really didn’t care whose cow had just already copulated to whose cat, or who needed weapon rescue to win a battle in middle of nowhere. The true reason why I joined FB was just that I needed online address book and perhaps some news from old friends, such as who had just got master diploma, who had just had a baby, or who had just skipped job. Otherwise, nope! I felt that this was so-called too much input just overloaded my brain, coz it troubled me to manage information adequately.

Then last week I talked to Jessie Monika and she said that we could manage to prevent people coming in the news feed of our FB page. No need to remove them from friends list, so there won’t be risky to insult them to make us felt not “friendly”. Just need to click HIDE icon which appeared in every news feed.

The problem was, sometimes I was scared that I was too snob until finally I would lose friends at all. There were some occasions where I decided, not to hear anything from Jane Doe coz I felt Jane Doe ignored me, but then suddenly a few years later Jane Doe came up and asked about me. It meant, that actually Jane was still wanna keep in touch, but she was just too lazy for replying mails. So I thought that the HIDE icon which Jessie suggested must be restorable.

I opened Help Center and finally got the solution. Well, just in case I don’t want my friend Jane Doe appear in my news feed list, so if someday Jane Doe posts her status, I just need to click HIDE icon on her right side. Ever since that day, next time Jane Doe posts anything, they’ll never appear in my news feed, and I will notice any of her news only if I open up her profile.

But next time if I want Jane Doe appear back in my news feed list, I just need to scroll down to bottom of the list, then I’ll find out the icon of EDIT OPTIONS. Click it, then a new box will appear, which contains the people that we’ve hidden before. Find the icon of Jane Doe, then click it to restore. And I would get alert of news from Jane Doe again.

What about Mafia Wars, Farmville, and those other skanky games? Press HIDE icon. Then some options will appear, whether if we wanna hide Jane Doe who plays Mafia Wars, or we just wanna hide the Mafia Wars only. If we click the HIDE MAFIA WARS icon, well Jane Doe’s news will still appear except news about her activity in Mafia Wars.

I’ve just already tried this tip in recent days, and I’ve felt my FB more clear now. No more people wrote skanky status such as acted preaching which usually begun with “O ye That reject Faith! Be aware..” or “Thank God my books are sold out. To order please contact 0815xxx..”

And I got happy to read news from my friends anymore. Which seemed strange to me now, the people who appear in my FB’s news feed are monotonous, which truly never post skanky things. Perhaps, people really only use FB for posting trashes.. *LOL*

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maszen
    May 25, 2010 @ 04:59:54

    wellcome to new site of your blog…. I think FB is more fun now, more game.. we better to look twitter to find people like blog

    salam dari Indonesia

    Reply

  2. Cahya
    May 25, 2010 @ 06:14:30

    I remember when I wrote my own rules when using facebook, I closed my wall from any external access, well basicly, I just use facebook as a profil page, not a social network.

    Twitter is far better to communicate and efficient, if you need to sent thousand of messeges to lot of friends, just use email (milis) etc, far more easy.

    I am not so enthusiast about this facebook 🙂

    Reply

  3. bandit™perantau
    May 25, 2010 @ 06:51:47

    i also use that “hide” option…
    its more comfortable to see our home wall without any FB application feeds there…
    i just need to see my friends status updates inc the link posted…
    Oh ya, i also hide some friends from my home wall, i don’t like to see and read their sordid status for sure…
    heheh

    Reply

  4. jc
    May 25, 2010 @ 09:19:56

    I strongly agree about ur opinion that our fb is our online curriculum vitae 😉 That’s why now I rarely upload personal photos, instead i upload my theater’s stuffs 😉

    Reply

  5. Ari
    May 25, 2010 @ 10:13:11

    Don’t you feel the same way in the off line world ? some stuffs that we don’t want to hear or see always come to us. But all we need to do is just ignoring them without being hampered. Just enjoy our life and all the colors surrounding us.
    regards.. 🙂

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      May 25, 2010 @ 10:25:07

      Pak Ari, in the offline world, if you hear that your neighbour’s cow copulate with another neighbour’s cat, you don’t need to lose your bandwidth just for hearing about it. 😀 Efficiency does a matter, Pak. Our brain is too small even for hearing those trashy informations.

      Reply

  6. Wiwied
    May 27, 2010 @ 07:45:11

    ::: hehehehe…. memang kenyamanan orang berbeda2 yah tiap individu….

    ::: cuma aku pribadi agak menyayangkan, terlalu ramai juga sih… ^-^

    ::: dulu alasan aku menomorsatukan FB dari pada blog, bukanya cepet gak pake lelet… aplikasi sangat cepat… ^-^

    ::: sekarang, terlalu banyak bumbu dapur, tapi ya itu tadi,,, ibaratnya masakan padang yang bikin kenyang, tetep aja ada yang suka ^-^, banyak malah, heuheu

    ::: ada yang baru di blog ku ^-^v,,, semoga dihampiri deh ^-^

    Reply

  7. citra
    May 30, 2010 @ 17:38:29

    Wow I just knew that.. Thanks 4 sharing this infos with me. When it happened to me, I just removed them from my friend list. It was so snobish..

    Reply

  8. om_rame
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 19:59:35

    mungkin iniLah saLah satu fenomena yang terjadi saat ini pada facebook, tinggaL kita sebagai pengguna agar dapat menyikapi dan tetap harus konsisten terhadap makna yang terkandung di daLamnya.
    terima kasih atas kunjungannya ke bLog butut saya. saLam persahabatan.

    Reply

  9. ariefborneo
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 07:47:55

    Wah bhas inggris lg ni…tp kya na lg ngebhas fb n blogger y…wah kalo fb ane skarang udh jarang up date mba soal na sdah 4bulan ini ane lebh jatuh hati dgn blogger karna lebih bnyak tantangan na apa lg ngeblog hanya dgn hp jadul SEricsson ane..hehehe
    Mav lo rada2 g nyambung dgn tajuk artikel na y mba..met pagi n slam hangat

    Reply

  10. the chocolate lover
    Jun 29, 2010 @ 10:54:49

    interesting….! I am going to try this tip on my FB…. But I suppose you just remove those people who only want to sell their product, right? Because mostly they are the one who flooding your newsfeed 🙂
    Thanks for sharing ^___^

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      Jun 29, 2010 @ 11:51:19

      😀 Well, actually I hide people like this:
      – those who flood my news feed with commercials
      – those who always preach :-p
      – those whom I sent mails but never replied me :-p
      – I don’t remember anyone else, but I guess there are plenty :mrgreen:

      Reply

  11. anne
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 19:45:31

    thanks for ur tips. i’ve been sooooo sick with friends updates in fb, those who i dont really really know, we’re just related by the other friends. I usually ignore or remove them, but now i just hide them! Except those that i dont want them to see my fb, i just ignore them. 😀
    *why am so laaate read ur blog and know this tips?* *it’s been over a year a go*

    Reply

And how do you think about it? ;-)

