Hard Visitable

I really wanna go home to Oz. I call it home, coz I lived there a while 14 years ago, in a very welcoming family in Sydney. The family took good care of me like its own daughter, and I know its house is the first place I wanna run to if I can return to Oz.

When my cousin moved to Sydney for her master study, it made me drooling to get there. Several times she’s been asking me to visit her, and I’ve been longing for a good chance. Now it’s spare time for me, and I think it’s wonderful if I spend a week or two in my cousin’s apartment by leisure.

And, it’s not easy. It takes visa to enter Australia. There are lotta application to apply if a foreigner wanna get there.

Visa application form for Australia. Image from http://bentroad.wordpress.com

One of the application mentions that I must apply an invitation from the person in Oz. It does a matter, who invites me, how he/she relates to me. If

I’m invited by my cousin, the cousinship must be explained in a legal document. I must apply my birth certificate to declare my mother’s name. Then I must also apply the birth certificate of my cousin to declare her mother’s name, and finally the family certificate which declares that my mother and my cousin’s mother are sibblings. That’s impossible coz the family certificate was stored by my grandpa, and he passed away seven years ago.

The embassy of Australia also requires for the bank account record of mine in the last three months which informs that I own a certain amount of cash money. This time I assume it’s ridiculous, as if people who are allowed to visit Oz are only people who have close relations there, and they should be rich. As if Oz refuse visits of poor people who just wanna hang out.

In fact, it’s just a simple intention of me. I just wanna go backpacking and spend days in my cousin’s place, like slumber parties we usually did when we were still little girls. It’s just incidental that she lives on Australia and I live on Indonesia. But the bureaucracy won’t seem easy enough.

I compare Australia to other countries such as Singapore or Malaysia. Those countries are dying so much for income, so they open up their gates widely for foreign tourists. It doesn’t seem so about Australia. The White Policy that they run so closely, so the government gives problems for immigrants to access it. Tourists may enter, if they have kids or parents who live on Oz. Or if they are under responsibility of travel bureau.

Otherwise, no way to go.

Too bad. Coz, I really wanna go to Oz again.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fahmi!
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 06:26:10

    ooohh… jadi ini motivasi kamu bikin paspor kemaren? mbok aku diajak po’o kalo maen ke ostrali. aku belum pernah ke ostrali. nanti tak foto2 deh yg banyak, hehe 😀

    Reply

  2. partnerinvain
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 07:37:14

    it happened to me when my friend Yuki invited me to attend her wedding in Japan, Yuki sent some copies, her father’s bank account and a letter that she would provide accomodation for me. It was bit difficult and needed a few week to have a visa but finally I could go but too bad for her sister in law she couldn’t go to Japan because her age under twenty and because so many Phillipines (her sister in law is Phillipines) work illegally in Japan, Japan embassy was so selective to someone who want to visit Japan whether she would go for pleasure or for working, to prevent missuse of visa. I really don’t understand how come they give some hard requirements for tourists especially for developed country instead of rich countries?

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      Jul 14, 2010 @ 08:41:42

      Call me misassume, but I’m curious that the rich countries are afraid that citizens of developed ones will enter their territories by pretending as tourist, while the hidden agenda is hunting for jobs. They just don’t want unemployed people come to get jobs in their countries and turn to be beggars which burden the local government.

      Reply

  3. the chocolate lover
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 09:13:08

    so true…. When I visited Korea they asked for the account statement as well… I was a bit upset, so I told the tour agency if they just want to decline my application then just said so and please stop asking ridiculous things… I still worked at that time…wondering now that I currently have no job and wish to apply for visa…. They probably just worried I might become an illegal worker or something… sighed…

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      Jul 14, 2010 @ 09:19:27

      It feels like you try to ask permission for entering a house.
      You: “Knock knock.”
      They: “What do you want?”
      You: “I wanna play in your house.”
      They: “Are you rich?”
      You: “No, I’m poor.”
      They: (shut their windows)

      Reply

  4. didut
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 06:52:47

    tetapi selain itu memang terlalu banyak imigran gelap yg masuk negara mereka kali yah dan warga Indonesia memang lebih terkenal dengan ‘kecerdasan’nya 😛

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      Jul 15, 2010 @ 08:25:14

      Iya, Dut, sayang juga sih. Nama baik bangsa kita jadi rada nggak bagus di mata keimigrasian mereka. Padahal masih banyak kan warga negara Indonesia yang kepingin melancong ke wilayah mereka dengan cara halal.. 🙂

      Reply

  5. me
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 15:07:31

    Actually it’s not that hard to get a visa to visit Oz. I once read their ambassador mention that around 97% of all visa applications lodged in Indonesia are granted.

    Sure, they have some requirements that we must meet in order to be granted a visa, but hey, that’s just life and not only Australia does that.

    Why don’t you just apply for a tourist visa? It’s quite easy to get and you might get it valid for a year.

    Best of luck!

    Reply

  6. mpokb
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 18:38:59

    Bisa jadi wajar, karena Oz termasuk yang paling banyak dituju oleh imigran. Yang membingungkan, seakan2 mereka nggak butuh imigran. Padahal imigran banyak bekerja di sektor informal yang belum tentu tersentuh oleh warga kelahiran Oz sendiri..

    Reply

  7. the chocolate lover
    Jul 17, 2010 @ 22:01:03

    pacarnya temen gue pernah kerja di OZ…. dan perlakuan sama dia gak terlalu baik… Mereka katanya kalau sm turis baru manis….

    Reply

  8. zee
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 08:39:49

    Wah saya jd inget bbrp tahun lalu ke Perth w/ hubby. Urus visanya sekitar 1mgg udah kelar, tp memang sih udah hrs ada tiket pesawat & nama hotel u/ stay trs guarantee letter dari rekan bule di sana. Ketat kayaknya ya.

    Btw, kita jg hrs bikin aturan apply visa dulu u/ bule2 itu klo mo ke Indonesia. Jgn cuma visa on arrival aja, enak bener….

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      Jul 19, 2010 @ 10:28:20

      Ya, di situlah yang kumaksud, Mbak. Kok kita mau ke negara orang aja mesti lamar visa jauh-jauh hari, tapi kalo orang lain ke negara kita boleh bikin visa pas dateng aja. Enak bener..

      Kesannya kita buka pintu lebar-lebar ke orang lain (atau takut dikira nggak ramah?), tapi orang lain pilih-pilih sama kita.

      *jeritan bangsa sensi*

      Reply

  9. fanny
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 10:03:54

    wah, ribet juga ya…tapi kalo via tour mungkin lebih mudah.

    Reply

  10. ranny
    Jul 19, 2010 @ 14:18:48

    baca persyaratan yang mbak bilang alamak jaang nanti aja deh ke sono..amit2 dah..banyak kaliii tuh persyaratannya,kek membatasi orang yang mo kesana yah..dan soal copy buku rekening..adohhh parah banget tuh..itu kan so private :((

    jadi mbak gag jadi dunk ksana?

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      Jul 19, 2010 @ 15:13:06

      Ya, saya juga ngakak perkara copy buku rekening itu. “Apa urusan lu pingin tahu berapa duit yang gw punya??”

      Keliatan banget upaya mereka membatasi penyelundup, tapi siyalnya turis biasa pun dicurigai macem-macem.

      Jadi nggak ya saya ke sana? Ah, nggak tahu. Masih cari timing yang tepat..

      Reply

  11. inung gunarba
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 17:31:00

    Homesick nih ama tanah sebrang qe3 salam kenal Vicky 😀

    Blognya rame, salute!

    Reply

  12. roy
    Jul 23, 2010 @ 12:46:14

    xixixixi………. pengen suatu saat nanti eh beberapa tahun lagi jalan-jalan ke oztrali…..:-) Salam kenal smoga nanti bertemu di oztrali…hehe

    Reply

And how do you think about it? ;-)

