Curiousity Kills

My hunk’s cell broke ever since a week ago. It was the malfunction of his “a” keypad, so he couldn’t type “a”. Each time he wanna wrote me a message, he should replace every “a”-s to “4”. So for example each time he wanna say, I wanna have breakfast with you at that place, he would replace it to I w4nn4 h4ve bre4kf4st with you 4t th4t pl4ce. Trust me, that kinda writing really ruined my eyes.

Ever since we found that the damn keypad was broken, I had told him to take it to mechanic center. But he declined. He said, the “a” keypad was labile, sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn’t. He thought it was a software error, so he thought that he could fix it by himself if he got the software that he needed.

Actually our friend who lived in another town had got the software, so we waited for the appropriate day to meet her. But at the day when we were supposed to meet the friend, she got sick so she couldn’t rescue my hunk’s cell.

It was making me sad to see that my hunk got blue coz he was worried about his cell. I know he loved his cell, and almost all of our activities depended on cell-messaging. He didn’t smile for a week, his mood declined significantly, and he felt discomfort on his gastrointestinum. I knew that he had been fit, so if he felt stomachache, it meant that he was awfully stressed.

Finally he listened to me. He announced on internet that his cell was broken, and he asked for recommendation about service center for his cell brand (coz we finally found out that Research in Motion had no authorized service center in our town). Someone gave him an address on Margorejo, and this afternoon, I accompanied him there.

The truth was, we just need to replace the keypad. It wasn’t about software error. We waited for the mechanic fixing the cell, and in an half hour, the “a” letter revealed on the screen. My hunk’s mood boosted, as high as rupiah raised after dollar fell down.

Then I thought, why didn’t my hunk get the cell straight away to mechanic ever since last week?

It's like pushing a bookshelf on your own hands. You struggle, and you try hard to find out whether you can solve it yourself. Photo from http://www.designdelight.com

This is the moment when I learn that my hunk was testing his strugglement. He wanna prove his hypothesis by his own, that his cell was broken coz of software error. Indeed, it was proven that it wasn’t about software error, but it was just about keypad error. But his whole-week effort proved that my hunk wasn’t a quitter, he didn’t just throw the problem to mechanics to be solved.

I understand how a curiousity kills. Curioosity why a keypad can be ruined, and whether we can fix it by our own. Perhaps we should try to solve our own curiousity. Maybe after we’ve found the answer, we’ll feel more satisfied, much more than when we let someone else answer it for us.

 

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Asop
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 21:58:06

    ….saya jadi ingat, ada kalimat “ignorance is bliss”. 😀 😀 😀

    Reply

  2. Bang Aswi
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 02:18:33

    Lihatlah! Betapa huruf ‘A’ saja bisa sangat mengganggu. Dan kehidupan kita jauh lebih kompleks daripada sekadar A-Z. Oleh karena itu, sekecil apapun yang ada dalam kehidupan kita, sudah pasti akan sangat berharga. Tapi … banyak orang yang tidak tahu tentang hal itu … sigh!

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      Apr 08, 2011 @ 06:03:22

      Hehehe..iya ya, Bang. Kemaren tuh, cuman hilang satu huruf aja, langsung nggak nyaman pakai HP-nya. Dua minggu lalu saya juga ketiban masalah, empat tombol keyboard netbook saya nggak mau berfungsi. Dooh..rasanya hidup langsung sengsara, hihihi..

      Reply

  3. fanny
    Apr 08, 2011 @ 10:15:35

    ha ha ha ngootot juga ya dia..tapi memang rasa penasaran itu mesti terpuaskan dulu…baru deh..dengerin apa kata orang lain

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      Apr 08, 2011 @ 10:31:38

      Iya yah. Aku juga ngeliat raut mukanya kok kayaknya penasaran banget liat keypad bandel itu. Rada gemes juga liat dia nggak mau nurut bawa ke tukang servis, sampek seminggu. Tapi yah, barangkali mungkin di situlah pembelajaran buat dia ya, Mbak. 😀

      Reply

  4. Harry
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 07:28:33

    take it easy, anyway 🙂

    Reply

  5. didut
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 17:16:18

    sebetulnya ini postingan yg romantis hihihi~

    Reply

  6. lina@happy family
    May 04, 2011 @ 15:00:53

    Saya sampe senyum2 sendiri nih. Memang adaaa aja hal2 yang membuat kita bertanya2, tetapi laki2 dalam hidup kita ini masih tetap keukeuh dengan pendapat dan argumentasinya 🙂

    Kolam2 ikan di Saung Dolken ngga terlalu lebar. Yang paling lebar sekitar 15×20 m…

    Reply

  7. jarwadi
    May 05, 2011 @ 10:39:27

    months ago I got my blackberry accidentally dropped off to ceramic floor from about 2 meters high. So sad, moments after I assembled my blackberry that was battery, back cover, and other parts detached, I found out which Alt key was missing.

    I waited for days after I could manage time to nearest part shop located at 2nd floor Ramai Mall Yogyakarta. The part itself cos $12 and I did replace the keypad on my blackberry. And well. My BB runs no matter what to date 😉

    Reply

And how do you think about it? ;-)

