Balinese Sedative

I wanna be free-insomnia, but I don’t wanna take any sedatives such as alprazolam, diazepam, or anything “-am”-s. Second reason, I’m afraid of being addicted. Third reason, I’m afraid that its effect is much longer than I thought (yes, I know these drugs won’t make me sleepy for days, but with my reputation that often fell asleep at Law class, probably I’m really a sleepy-head?)

First reason? Coz these drugs are hard to get, even at the chemist near my apartment. Only a few place sells them, and it’s often depended on the existence of psychiatrist nearby..

I’d got lotta tips to sleep easily at night. Turn off the lights, listen to lullaby music, and put the cell away from your head when you’re going to bed. Nothing works for me, Folks. There’s only one tip that I hadn’t done: Lavender essential oil.

They said, when you’re going to bed, pour a few drops of lavender oil on your pillow.

I couldn’t find the lavender oil on the conventional supermarket nearby. Everytime I came to those smells-like-incense ethnic shops, usually the oil costs too much. I just need a few drops, instead of a full bottle..

So, when I got to Bali two weeks ago, I found the lavender oil in a lotta souvenir shops. It costs little enough, and the bottle is not really large. So I brought one away home.

At home, I drop the oil on the pillow cover. Firstly I wasn’t excited, coz the omzet of the sleep didn’t start quickly, coz 15-30 minutes after I smelled the pillow, I hadn’t fallen asleep. But after an hour, I fell asleep, tight, and…when I woke up, the sun had risen high!

This oil works better than sedatives, hihihihi.. *grinned like those pigs at Angry Birds*

And of course, the adverse effect existed. When I woke up, I looked at my face on the mirror, and I almost screamt. My face looked like oil well!

*immediately ran to shower room and washed my face*

I thought the oil would steam on the air.. *straight face MODE : ON*

I’m good enough in counseling about drugs usage, but I’m not capable of using aromatherapy oil.

Lavender essential oil. Smells like nyong-nyong.

Can anybody teach me, please? My hunk said that I was supposed to drop the oil on the pillow, instead on the pillow cover. Well, I was afraid that the oil would ruin the pillow if I dropped the oil right on it.. (Didn’t I care enough about the pillow cover?)

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. latree
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 09:50:32

    I used to take CTM. Long ago I had a bad insomnia.

    Now, though still I don’t fall asleep easily, thank God I don’t need any sedatives. I feel so normal.

    But that lavender oil sounds interesting. I might need some, some day. Why didn’t you tell about this when I was still ‘there’? πŸ˜€

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      Jun 16, 2011 @ 10:23:59

      CTM is used to make sleepy, but it may impairs kidney. That’s why I never suggest those kinda sedative.

      I didn’t tell you about the lavender oil coz you already returned at Saturday πŸ˜€
      Never mind, if there’s any ethnic shop in Semarang or Solo, I believe you may find the oil. Once I found the lavender oil and any other essential oils at M*rota, Jogja.

      Reply

  2. partnerinvain
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 15:10:35

    I turn on my TV and watch football or midnight movie if the match or movies are not good than I fall asleep

    Reply

  3. tian
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 19:27:28

    may reading some book quite help, or just sleep

    Reply

  4. Asop
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 21:47:53

    Oh, ada ya, minyak itu? 😯
    Haha, saya… ragu untuk mencobanya… secara saya amat jarang gak bisa tidur… hanya yang kemarin aja, yang gara2 minum espresso… 😳

    Reply

  5. Aubergine
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 21:57:59

    free from insomnia, just skip online on your bed … hehehe … facebook and twitter, they’re more dangerous than coffee πŸ˜€

    Reply

  6. 3snainc
    Jun 17, 2011 @ 20:02:18

    greetings πŸ™‚
    years ago i also had a similar problem like you, even much worse than your condition… i have a post that i can recommend you to read… it’s in one of my post titled >> Better Tips to Get Rid Off Insomnia << you can search it inside my blog…

    this post has saved me from my horror insomnia πŸ™‚ the point of not having insomnia is to get rid off your stress… perhaps it would be better if you read the post…

    sorry i didn't put the link, it might detected as a spam πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      Jun 18, 2011 @ 00:16:54

      Yes, I do, I’m in stress condition..
      It’s all because I want a pair of boots but I can’t buy it.
      Not just because it’s not sold in shoe shops nearby, but it’s also coz I don’t know when I will wear it. My boyfriend said that kinda boots didn’t suit to pedestrians in Indonesia, people would look at me like an alien, so I guess there would be no opportunity for me to wear boots.. πŸ˜₯

      Reply

  7. gogo caroselle
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 10:34:28

    i heard about that too, the lavender oil and i love the scent… it works for me, but i use citrus, same effect actually… and reading before sleeping helps, a lot…

    i think i saw you somewhere in the blogsphere… you’re one of painting the sky reader if im not mistaken?

    salam kenal yah πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      Jul 07, 2011 @ 16:15:26

      Bukan, saya bukan pelukis langit. Saya sih melukis di kertas aja, hihihi..

      Eh ya, pake citrus ya. Kapan-kapan saya cobain deh. Selama ini saya selalu ngira bau citrus itu selalu justru bikin jadi bergairah, bukan jadi bikin tidur, hihihi..

      Reply

  8. lina@women's perspectives
    Jul 22, 2011 @ 13:20:02

    Thank God, saya sih pelor, alias nempel molor, hehehe…
    Pernah nyoba mandi air hangat sebelum tidur atau kompres mata dengan kapas basah?

    Reply

    • Vicky Laurentina
      Jul 24, 2011 @ 05:33:08

      Kalo kompres mata sih nggak pernah.
      Dulu waktu saya masih tinggal di Bandung, mandi air hangat sebelum tidur bisa bikin pulas. Tapi sekarang saya tinggal di Surabaya yang pnas, jadi mandi air hangat aja bisa bikin bodi tambah panas dan nggak bisa tidur deh.. πŸ™‚

      Reply

And how do you think about it? ;-)

