I Quit

I used to be addicted on sugar.

I had habit having a cup of milk each morning. I served myself a mealspoon of milk powder in a cup of water, added with a mealspoon of sugar. I had been done that ever since when my mom taught me to serve my own milk. When I was grown up, I could not enjoy my milk without sugar.

Then the phase came to my dad as he was sentenced as diabetes. It depressed him coz it guided him to be dependent on antidiabetic drugs for the rest of his life. Those drugs drove him hypogycemic, made him dizzy. And he had to decline his long-distance-driving hobby coz he could not stand of being sleepy while driving. Shortly, this diabetes did not kill, but it truly decreased his quality of life.

His siblings had fallen into diabetes, too. As my mother’s mom sisters also got diabetes, and her mom then passed away coz diabetes had failed her heart, I soon awared that diabetic gene had streamed in my blood. And it worried me much coz I could not keep sugar away from my dairy milk.

Being married brought me to a new perception. My new husband did not like his milk tasted too sweet. So every morning when I served us milk, I should prepare my own milk with sugar and left his without one. Sometimes our cups were exchanged, and I forgot which cup was whose cup, then my hunk accidentally had the sweet milk. I was dazzled.

He had been living with his mom for years and he got used to her food. Javanese moms love adding salt in every food that they cook, and so does my mom-in-law. Soon I found a new problem: my mom-in-law and my hunk loved salty food, and I prefered sweeties. Then I found out another horrible thing: she had hypertension, and I could not find anything else to blame except his habit for having salties. This hypertension disabled her to control her emotion, and injured her heart, too. I was just afraid that someday this salty habit would made my hunk suffered, too.

I could not stop the diseases from ruining our family, but I knew that I could try to prevent them by creating a new habit. Luckily my hunk loved my food than his mom’s meals, so I had freedom to determine his diet. I decide to decline salt in my recipe. Firstly he still could taste the salt. Then I decline it more, until then I add no salt at all. He has got used to it, and finally he can not even differ which food of mine has salt and which one does not have. It works.

Then I try to treat myself. I decide not to add sugar on my milk. It was difficult on the beginning. But I keep it going on. After two weeks, I have been able to enjoy my milk without having sugar.

I realize then that a diet is about how you can set your self free from your old habit to new one. And you will be satisfied to perform it if you aware that the new habit will prevent you from diseases that can damage your quality of life.

I believe that I will spend my retired life to enjoy travelling more than being burdened of diabetes and hypertension. 🙂 http://georgetterox.blogspot.com
https://laurentina.wordpress.com

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. dani
    Feb 07, 2015 @ 05:40:47

    Aaah, thank you for the reminder. Really.. thanks. I haven’t given much thought about it yet.

    Reply

And how do you think about it? ;-)